Emancipation Form Criteria

A child 16 years and older is able to petition the court to become emancipated from their parents.  For this to happen the youth must meet the following criteria:

  • At least 16 years old
  • A resident of Arizona
  • Financially self-sufficient
  • Have a written statement saying that they understand the process, risks, and rights involved
  • The youth is not a ward of the court or in the custody of the state

Related Articles

Tags:
Court Logo

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | About Us


© , Arizona Bar Foundation | All Rights Reserved


This website has been prepared for general information purposes only. The information on this website is not legal advice. Legal advice is dependent upon the specific circumstances of each situation. Also, the law may vary from state-to-state or county-to-county, so that some information in this website may not be correct for your situation. Finally, the information contained on this website is not guaranteed to be up to date. Therefore, the information contained in this website cannot replace the advice of competent legal counsel licensed in your jurisdiction.

Search

feedback
feedback