Small Claims Information

The types of claims that can be filed in the small claims division include:

  • money debts
  • personal injury
  • property damage
  • contracts

The types of claims that cannot be filed in the small claims division are those for:

  • libel or slander
  • prejudgment remedies
  • injunctive relief
  • specific performance
  • class actions
  • traffic violations
  • criminal matters
  • claims greater than $3500
  • evictions (forcible entry or detainer)
  • actions against this state: it's political subdivisions; OR
  • an officer or employee in an official capacity (i.e. State, County, City, Salt River Project, etc.)

The clerks at the Justice Courts are available to answer most questions relating to jurisdiction, venue, pleadings or procedures that this web site cannot answer for you. Please keep in mind that the clerk cannot engage in the practice of law and cannot give you legal advice.


Small Claim Forms

Court Logo

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | About Us

© , Arizona Bar Foundation | All Rights Reserved

This website has been prepared for general information purposes only. The information on this website is not legal advice. Legal advice is dependent upon the specific circumstances of each situation. Also, the law may vary from state-to-state or county-to-county, so that some information in this website may not be correct for your situation. Finally, the information contained on this website is not guaranteed to be up to date. Therefore, the information contained in this website cannot replace the advice of competent legal counsel licensed in your jurisdiction.